Captivating the King Season 1 Episode 9: Release Date & Where to Watch

Renowned filmmaker Jo Nam-gook, best known for his critically acclaimed television series The Good Detective, is back with Captivating the King (세작, 매혹된 자들), a historical romance drama with a dash of twists and turns and excellent performances from Jo Jung-suk, Shin Sae-kyeong, and Lee Shin-young.

It has everything fun and spicy enough to keep viewers glued to the screen the entire time. The show is being distributed by both Netflix and TV, so its potential is international.

Jo Jung-suk as Lee In, Shin Sae-kyeong as Kang Hee-soo/Kang Mong-woo, and Lee Shin-young as Kim Myung-ha play the three key parts. Hospital Playlist (2020–2021) was Jo Jung-suk’s previous hit; Run On (2020–2021) was Shin Sae-kyeong’s last project; and CEO-dol Mart (2023) was Lee Shin-young’s last appearance.

The King continues to care for Mong-woo and spend time with him in spite of the rumors that are circulating. When Myung-ha questions Mong-woo about the rumour, he or she responds that everything is falling into place just right. In the meantime, the senior court lady requests that the Queen Dowager accept her want to spend one night with the king in order to bear more children.

Captivating the King Season 1 (Credit: Netflix)

When the Principal Director meets with the King, he informs him that a petition to remove Mong-woo has been filed by all court authorities. The petition will be canceled, according to the chief director, if the King consents to have a sexual relationship with the court lady.

Therefore, despite his desire not to, the King consents. The critically ill King’s wife is traumatized by this revelation. She hasn’t even sat close to her husband, so she feels awful to hear that a court lady is spending the night with him.  Given that Mong-woo/Hee-soo still harbors affections for the King, this revelation also pains her.

It’s always Jo Jung-suk when it comes to intense situations. This dude is so diverse, and we’re here for it whether he’s being silly, furious, or incredibly lovely. Because it had so many different feelings, the eighth episode is by far the finest of the entire series. The eagerly awaited kiss and Hee-soo’s long-awaited disclosure were delivered.

In addition, the King is undoubtedly a person who is attracted to the soul rather than the gender. Kudos to the director for taking the brilliant decision to portray an LGBT+ subject.This episode had a lot of humor, especially when the King touched Sang-hwa to see if he was attracted to guys.

Captivating the King Season 1 (Credit: Netflix)
Captivating the King Season 1 (Credit: Netflix)

The adorable leap by the King and Sang-hwa came after that really funny scene. We are grateful that this episode has everything we needed. We can only hope that Hee-soo will discover the truth about the King and be able to forgive him in the upcoming episodes.

The Captivating the King Season 1 Episode 9 release date is February 17, 2024.

  • Pacific Time (New York) 3:50 AM on Sunday, 17 February 2024
  • Eastern Time (Canada) 6:50 AM on Sunday, 17 February 2024
  • Greenwich Mean Time (London) 11:50 AM on Sunday, 17 February 2024
  • Central European Time (Germany) 12:50 PM on Sunday, 17 February 2024
  • Australian Standard Time (Australia) 8:50 PM on Sunday, 17 February 2024